AIJ Prizes

AIJ awards greatachievements every year to promote the advancement anddevelopment of the science, technology and art related toarchitecture and to heighten architectural quality inJapan. Each prize has its own criteria for awardingachievements.

The Grand Prize of Architectural Institute of Japan

Grand prizes are presented to individual members whoseachievements contribute to the advancement ofarchitecture and building engineering.

Prizes of Architectural Institute of Japan

(1) The Prize of Architectural Institute of Japan forResearch Thesis
(2) The Prize of Architectural Institute of Japan forDesign
(3) The Prize of Architectural Institute of Japan forEngineering
(4) The Prize of Architectural Institute of Japan forSpecific Contribution

AIJ awards prizes to individual members for remarkableachievements made in the categories of research theses,architectural design, building engineering and specificcontributions in architecture (e.g., town development,preservation of old architecture, technical development).

The Prize of AIJ for Education

The Prize of the AIJ for Education is awardedfor excellent achievements concerning architecturaleducation by its members, which have contributed to theadvancement of architectural education. It consists ofthe Award for Distinguished Achievement for work whichbore fruit following years of activity, while making anoutstanding contribution to the advancement ofarchitectural education as well as society (one work),and the Award for Outstanding Practice for workconcerning educational programs/instructional materials (fourworks).

The Encouragement Prize of Architectural Institute ofJapan

These prizes are presented for excellent research done byregular members under 40 years old.

The Annual Architectural Design Commendation ofArchitectural Institute of Japan

These commendations are presented for excellentarchitectural designs selected from the "SelectedArchitectural Designs of the Architectural Institute ofJapan."

The Appreciation Prize of Architectural Institute ofJapan

AIJ awards these prizes to non-members for excellentcontributions to architecture.

Back to the Top

The AIJPrize for Design and Annual Architectural DesignCommendation

The AIJ Prize for Design

The Prize of the Architectural Institute of Japan forDesign, established in 1949, is the oldest and mostprestigious award given to architectural designs in Japan.The prize is given to outstanding architectural designs (includinglandscapes, interiors, etc.) completed in recent yearswhich have a high standard from both social and culturalstandpoints, and which contribute to the comprehensivedevelopment of technique and art. The prize is given toat most three-designs annually. No one shall receive theprize; if designs are not worth awarded.

Annual Architectural Design Commendation of AIJ

AIJ has published the "Selected Architectural Designof AIJ" annually since 1989 in order to announceexcellent works designed by AIJ members. Those works areeligible, and are selected by the Editorial Committee ofthe AIJ Journal of Selected Architectural Designs. Thecondition of application is that a work should have beencompleted more than one but less than three years beforesubmission. Every year approximately 250 works aresubmitted and about 60 works get published. "AnnualArchitectural Design Commendations of AIJ,"established in 1995, are awards given to superior worksamong the "Selected Architectural Design of AIJ."

Back to the Top

Journal of Asian Architectureand Building Engineering

JAABE BestPaper Award

This award is presented to outstanding paperspublished in this journal by the Architectural Instituteof Japan, Architectural Institute of Korea andArchitectural Society of China, and is given to a maximumof four papers (not more than one per field) once a yearand announced in every May issue.

Back to the Top